Guns

I came up with a quick and dirty system for random-rolling basic concepts for weapons in the game, which I then imported into Gridless and laid out some very rudimentary stats, which can then be exported to a .json file for Godot to parse, hopefully taking a lot of the legwork out of creating each weapon in-game. My roll tables are as follows:

ARCHETYPES: SMG, Precision, Pistol, Burstfire, Assault, Sniper, Shotgun, Heavy (roll 1d8)

PROPERTES: Ballistic, Smart, Rail, Exotic (roll 1d4)

MANUFACTURERS: Eklund Concern, Temtesh Manufacturing Corporation, Tactical Hardware Design, Imnek Research and Development, XOR Fabrik, Void Ballistics (roll 1d6)


EKLUND CONCERN: Mass-production, function over aesthetic, rugged, dependable

TEMTESH MANUFACTURING CORPORATION: Southeast Asian heavy industrial megafabricator

TACTICAL HARDWARE DESIGN: Overpriced American paramilitary / PMC aesthetic fetish gear

IMNEK R&D: Weapons division of high-end scramjet and rail accelerator manufacture corp

XOR FABRIK: ⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛-backed manufacturing arm of [REDACTED] ⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛ blacksite skunkworks

VOID BALLISTICS: Corporate plaything of a sadistic gun-fetishist billionaire, cruelty by design


After rolling about 40 guns this way, I also added in another kitbashed’ category for improvised weapons, figuring it would make sense for those exploring ruins to try and engineer their own weapons out of spare parts, scrap and schematics. Zeiram’s incredible prop design being entirely to blame for this.

How the fuck I am meant to concept and model neary 50 guns is anybody’s guess really. Pretty sure I’ve set myself an impossible task. That number will likely fall considerably.

August 16, 2021


Previous post
The Underlands A vast swathe of boreal forest, moorland and rugged, windswept coast. Nobody knows the exact purpose of the many ruins that starkly dot the lands
Next post
Inhabiting Imaginary Spaces // The Dreaded Subject of Systems I’m still trying to refine my own ideas and how I talk about play. I don’t want to be didactic, but at the same time, I feel a huge sense of